Be Awesome and Blog

Image


        yoga-in-the-city-2 When I was younger I always enjoyed keeping a journal or diary, somewhere to write all the stuff down that was floating around in my head. As I got older and especially in the past couple years, I realized that I had many things I wanted to  share with people. I had contemplated starting my own blog for sometime, but put it off for the usual, lazy reasons! However, thanks to my social media class I got a chance to start my own blog, which I will definitely be continuing on with even though the class is coming to an end.

In my class, a great deal of the emphasis was on corporate blogging and while there are many excellent reasons for corporations to  blog (SEO, brand personality, credibility etc..)  I’m going to tell you my three reasons for writing a personal blog.

1. As a yoga teacher, I like to include philosophy in my classes, life lessons, that sort of thing and when you are in a yoga class it is  easy to be calm, forgiving and compassionate with yourself and with others. Now, what happens when you finish yoga and you go out  into the world? You are confronted with all sorts of life situations where it can become easy to loose your temper or fall back into old  habits. For instance, if you come across my blog articles in your inbox or on the web in a stressful moment then maybe, just maybe you can be  taken back to the calm positive state of mind you had in your yoga class and gain some perspective on the situation. I want my blog  to be a place where yogi’s can reconnect and transition yoga teachings into their everyday lives.

2.  If you are an introverted individual such as myself, blogging and social media in general, are great ways to put yourself out there. Blogging gives you the time to think about what you really want to say and how you want to say it and it doesn’t matter how loud your voice is or how many people you are talking to because it’s all written down. I’m not saying that you need to have two different personalities for offline and online but sometimes it is easier to say what you want to say in writing.

3. When I first started teaching yoga, I thought having a website would be the best way to go. However, I’m happy with my blog and I can post everything on my blog that I would put on my website. I can also link my blog to other social media platforms and for now that is perfect for what I need it for. Blogging is also great because I can submit my blog to other sites such as Digg and Reddit to gain more readers.

Is blogging important? yes definitely! These are some of my reasons for blogging, what are your reasons? do you blog for money? or for fun? for yourself or for a company? I would love to hear about it in your comments below.


                                                                                                                 5949e38997c019fb98ec0131e9306188

4 responses »

  1. Great post, with great points! I have long been a journal-keeper myself, and have had many blogs over the years for personal reasons. Some of them I still go back and look at, and I admit that some of them are too painful to re-read 🙂 But that’s life, right?

  2. Pingback: Why Am I Blogging? – Smart Stunning Searching

  3. Hi Danielle, I’ve just started my own blog. It is themed mostly around my family’s travel from the South of France to San Francisco. It will obviously evolve along with our life experience over this period of time! We leave in 2 weeks and this is countdown! I too have been toying with the idea of Blogging. It’s all quite new, but I’m starting to get a hang of it, and stumbled upon your “Related article”. How would you best publish related articles? Create a dedicated page? Or just repost below my own post? Look forward to your Yogi Insight;-)

    Audrey

Leave a comment